Select Page

Oak Hill Academy wins grant for Environmental Literacy

Principal Todd Giszack is pleased to announce that the Academy applied for and received a significant financial grant from the Bass Pro Shops and Cabela’s Outdoor Fund to assist with OHA’s Environmental Literacy Initiative (ELI).

Last year Oak Hill Academy established  a new ELI program. The idea was inspired by the fact that the school’s campus is located in one of the most ecologically and biologically diverse regions of the country. Our community of Mouth of Wilson, in Grayson County, is embedded in the Appalachian Mountains in southwestern Virginia, in the shadow of Mt. Rogers (the tallest peak in the state). It also is situated on the banks of the New River, which is one of the oldest rivers on earth. There is no better location for such place-based education than the campus of our boarding school!

Click on the image for Visitors’ Guide.

Work quickly began on establishing partnerships with regional environmentally-minded  advocates, and we soon formed alliances with the New River Conservancy, The Blue Ridge Discovery Center, and the New River Wildlife and Conservation Club.  We also determined that the ELI will rest upon four foundational pillars: academic study, field investigation, experiential learning, and service.  After hiring Mr. Aaron Grubbs as environmental educator and program director, the school set out to acquire funding for necessary supplies, including hip waders, nets, testing supplies for both soil and water evaluation, and other lab equipment.

Fortunately, Bass Pro Shops and Cabela’s established the nationally-known Outdoor Fund to assist organizations intent on promoting environmental stewardship and education. We are grateful for these grant monies as we purchase needed supplies and continue our work creating environmentally informed citizens.


Todd Giszack
Principal
Oak Hill Academy

 

 

Contact Information

Oak Hill Academy
2635 Oak Hill Rd.
Mouth of Wilson, Virginia 24363

Phone Number  276-579-2619

Administrative Office Fax Number  276-579-4722

Academic Office Fax Number  276-579-2618

Principal
Mr. Todd Giszack
tgiszack@oak-hill.net

Director of Student Affairs
Mr. Aaron Butt
butta@oak-hill.net

Dean of Boys
Mr. Luke Peace
lpeace@oak-hill.net

Director of Financial Affairs
Mrs. Rhonda Bowen
rbowen@oak-hill.net

Student Expense Accounts
Mrs. Elly Tucker
etucker@oak-hill.net

Student Tuition Accounts
Mrs. Laura Phipps
lphipps@oak-hill.net

Transportation Coordinator
Mrs. Regina Cooper
rcooper@oak-hill.net

Director of Counseling
Mrs. Joy Groves, MA, LPC, NCC
jgroves@oak-hill.net

Academy Nurse
Ms. Betsy Anderson
Mrs. Anita Perkins
nurse@oak-hill.net

For additional contact info., visit the Faculty & Staff Directory.