Select Page

Principal names new Student of Distinction

Semaj E. ’21

OHA Principal Todd Giszack announced today that Semaj E. has been named a “Student of Distinction.”

Semaj is a senior from Lanham, Maryland. Mr. Giszack cited the following recommendations from the staff. Semaj is a good natured, hard-working team player. He earns good grades, follows the rules, and is a friendly member of the Oak Hill community.

Though soft-spoken, Semaj is upbeat and always has a smile on his face. He can get along with anyone, and is eager to help others.

Semaj is a member of Red Team Basketball. A dedicated athlete, he reached personal bests on his Strength and Conditioning final exam this week, and earned the Boys’ Advanced Fitness class award.

Congratulations, and Happy Graduation, Semaj!

Students are regularly nominated by the faculty and staff for making notable contributions to Oak Hill Academy campus life.

 

Oak Hill Community comes together to “Race for a Cause”

 

On Saturday, April 3, the Oak Hill community participated in a “Race for a Cause” to prevent child abuse. The race involved students, faculty, and OHA families.

 

About the race

The race was organized with help from Mrs. Martha Dacons, Oak Hill’s learning support specialist.

Students came together to advocate for victims of child abuse, sharing important facts during weekly assemblies and through signs posted at trail markers.

Students and faculty mapped out a 2-mile trail that started at the girls’ dormitory, looped throughout campus, and ended at Noonkester Park on campus.

 

After the race

Everyone enjoyed the friendly competition, with first-place runners receiving certificates to showcase their achievements. Additionally, participants were given engraved rubber bracelets to remember the event and its message.

After reaching the finish line, students and faculty enjoyed a communion of kayaking, playing volleyball, and having a group lunch in the sunshine.

The event inspired members of our community to donate and to be more aware of signs, causes, and prevention of child abuse.

 

How to help

There are many different organizations committed to the prevention of child abuse. There are options to donate, host fundraisers, or to research other ways to aid in prevention.

Prevent Child Abuse America

Prevent Child Abuse America is the nation’s oldest and largest organization committed to preventing child abuse and neglect before it happens. We promote programs and resources informed by science that enable kids, families, and entire communities to thrive—today, tomorrow, and for generations to come.”

Families Forward Virginia

Families Forward Virginia, a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization, is Virginia’s leading organization dedicated to disrupting the cycles of child abuse, neglect and poverty.”

Contact Information

Oak Hill Academy
2635 Oak Hill Rd.
Mouth of Wilson, Virginia 24363

Phone Number  276-579-2619

Administrative Office Fax Number  276-579-4722

Academic Office Fax Number  276-579-2618

Principal
Mr. Todd Giszack
tgiszack@oak-hill.net

Director of Student Affairs
Mr. Aaron Butt
butta@oak-hill.net

Dean of Boys
Mr. Luke Peace
lpeace@oak-hill.net

Dean of Girls
Ms. Ashley Smith
asmith@oak-hill.net

Director of Financial Affairs
Mrs. Rhonda Bowen
rbowen@oak-hill.net

Student Expense Accounts
Mrs. Elly Tucker
etucker@oak-hill.net

Student Tuition Accounts
Mrs. Laura Phipps
lphipps@oak-hill.net

Transportation Coordinator
Mrs. Regina Cooper
rcooper@oak-hill.net

Director of Counseling
Mrs. Joy Groves, MA, LPC, NCC
jgroves@oak-hill.net

Academy Nurse
Ms. Betsy Anderson
Mrs. Anita Perkins
nurse@oak-hill.net

For additional contact info., visit the Faculty & Staff Directory.